Double Duty: Addressing Other Priority Substances in the Midst of the Opioid Crisis

Virtual Presentation

  • Thursday, September 6, 2018
    3:00pm to 4:30pm AST
    3:00pm to 4:30pm EDT
    2:00pm to 3:30pm CDT
    1:00pm to 2:30pm MDT
    12:00pm to 1:30pm PDT

Description

Prevention practitioners across the country acknowledge the need to understand emerging substance problems, especially when the nation’s prevention workforce is focused so intently on addressing the opioid crisis. The multi-pronged approaches to addressing opioid misuse and overdose in our states, tribes, jurisdictions and communities have left fewer resources to survey and intervene in the possible next drug crises. Support is needed to better understand what these new drug trends are, and how to simultaneously monitor and address these problems while continuing to focus on opioid misuse prevention efforts.

This webinar will present emerging drug trends coinciding with the rise in opioid misuse at the national and regional levels and explore the role of prevention in addressing these substance misuses. We will also highlight best practices for monitoring and addressing new priority substance problems in various regions throughout the U.S.

Audience

SAMHSA’s Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) substance misuse prevention grantees, including National Prevention Network representatives, Single State Agency representatives, grant project directors, and other state-, tribe- and jurisdiction-level staff across grant cohorts.

Register here.

Certificates of Participation

Registered participants who attend events will be able to access a certificate of participation in PDF format for the duration of each event (click the “print certificate” link in your archived events listing once the event has concluded). We invite participants to submit these certificates to the substance abuse prevention credentialing board in their state, tribe, or jurisdiction. Please note that it is up to the individual credentialing board to determine if these hours are acceptable for professional credentialing or re-certification.

Contact Information

For questions about event content, please contact Rachel Pascale, Training and Technical Assistance Specialist at rpascale@edc.org. If you have technical difficulties, questions, or comments prior to or during the event, please contact our tech team at captconnect@edc.org. Please put the event date in the subject of your email so that we can better respond to your inquiry.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s